The purpose of this post is not to be political and share my viewpoint on Kim Davis, the Kentucky clerk jailed for refusing to sign gay marriage licenses. My purpose is to point out one key truth that you not find in told in the mainstream media.

First, let me share with you the negative that everyone is aware of because it is being blasted over the news waves. Kim Davis is a sinner who has committed some pretty terrible acts. For example, she has been married four times, divorced three times, gave birth to twins out of wedlock, and was unfaithful in her marriages. A word John Newton published in 1779 seems like a fitting description. She is a “wretch.” Yet, Kim Davis also has something in common with John Newton. In Kim’s own words, she was “living in a pit of sin that I had created with my very own hands.”

In 2011, something drastic took place in Kim’s life. Her mother-in-law left a dying request for Kim to visit a church at least one time in her adult life. Kim’s mother-in-law passed away on a Sunday morning and Kim fulfilled the wish that very evening. In that church service, Kim heard some good news. “The pastor preached out of Galatians, and it really stirred my heart. I repented right there on the altar, just fell on my knees and face and cried.” In a written public statement Kim also shared, “There I heard a message of grace and forgiveness and surrendered my life to Jesus Christ. I am not perfect. No one is. But I am forgiven and I love my Lord and must be obedient to Him and to the Word of God.”

Kim Davis indeed does have something else in common with John Newton. As a wretched sinner, she received God’s Amazing Grace. 1 Corinthians 6:11 puts is this way, “And such were some of you: but ye are washed, but ye are sanctified, but ye are justified in the name of the Lord Jesus, and by the Spirit of our God.” Is Kim a terrible sinner, hypocrite, and wretch? Oh yes, but she has been washed! The wrath of God upon her has been appeased through Christ’s substitution by his death, burial, and resurrection according to the Scriptures. The guilt of her sin has been nailed to the cross and she bares it no more.

As I stated before, my purpose is not to share my political viewpoint. I am not calling Kim a hero or rebel. I will let history decide what it records regarding Kim Davis. Today, I shall sing John Newton’s beautiful song with her that reveals the magnificence of what God does for us as lowly sinners who put our faith in Christ.

Amazing grace! How sweet the sound

That saved a wretch like me!

I once was lost, but now am found;

Was blind, but now I see.

’Twas grace that taught my heart to fear,

And grace my fears relieved;

How precious did that grace appear

The hour I first believed.

