Tags

, ,

We are just one day before Election Day! We will all issue a sigh of relief to not see or hear the commercials for another four years. I must admit that this is the most intriguing presidential election I have witnessed in my 37 years.

Tomorrow, America goes to the polls and decides who will be the POTUS for the next four years. The race seems very tight according to all the polling, but only God knows the outcome since he has already selected a winner. This fact brings great comfort to me as the responsibility I have is to be a good steward with my vote.

I must also admit that I am curious to see how most Christians will react to the election results when this race is finally decided. I am a sore loser when it comes to competition, but God has given me peace over this election. Jesus set the perfect example in Luke 22:42 when he said, “Yet not my will, but yours be done.” I wonder how many Christians are willing to say this to the Father in regards to the election. God has never lost an election, and his grace is sufficient to carry the church no matter who lives at 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue. In fact, the next president fits into God’s plan to prepare this world for Christ’s return. I don’t need to understand how or why. I just need to trust him.

This isn’t to say that I am a pacifist and willing to ignore important issues such as Biblical marriage, the sanctity of human life from conception, or fiscal responsibility. These are issues I beg for God to change in our country, yet true peace rests in the sovereignty God. No matter who wins this election, Christ builds his church, God draws the consummation of the age closer, and my responsibility to proclaim the Gospel is unchanged. Praise the Lord! I have my preferences in this election, and believe my opinions are honest and true. Yet, I am not God. My ways are not his ways, and my thoughts are not his thoughts (Isaiah 55:8). I would like to challenge you over the next 48 hours to pray with me, “Not my will, but yours be done.” God has a sovereign plan.

Each month we select one hymn to sing in every worship service. This month’s hymn is, “To God be the Glory.” I pray that all of us are willing to sing, “Praise the Lord, Praise the Lord, let the earth hear his voice! Praise the Lord, Praise the Lord, let the people rejoice…” when we learn of God’s decision for the resident in the White House.

