Tags

,

A few weeks ago, thousands of pastors around the country participated in Pulpit Freedom Sunday, an initiative where pastors endorsed political candidates from the pulpit in defiance of an Internal Revenue Service rule. Some of you have asked why NESBC did not participate in such an event since we revere the rights afforded to us by the Constitution of the United States. It is a fair and relevant question.

The first reason I do not preach politics from the pulpit rests upon Biblical submission.  Paul wrote in 2 Timothy 4:2, “Preach the Word!” I consider this command to be one of ultimate importance even though many churches choose to disregard its value. My duty, as a pastor, is to feed the flock through the teaching of the Word of God, and not protest the IRS. I certainly am concerned over the moral and political state of our country. I simply believe that the preaching of God’s Word from the pulpit takes precedence over politics.

A second reason I do not preach politics from the pulpit rests upon a Biblical worldview. Did you know that God has never lost an election? Daniel 2:21 says, “He changes times and seasons; he removes kings and sets up kings; he gives wisdom to the wise and knowledge to those who have understanding.” Romans 13:1 also says, “Let every person be subject to the governing authorities. For there is no authority except from God, and those that exist have been instituted by God.” God truly has never lost an election because of his sovereignty. The man God chooses for the job always lives in the White House. My prayer is the same as Jesus’, “Not my will, but thine be done.”

Finally, I would encourage you all to exercise one of the greatest rights given to Americans by God’s grace, the right to vote. I believe we all should be good stewards of the freedoms God has given us. As you cast your vote, I encourage you to do so as an act of worship (Romans 12:1) resting in the sovereignty of God, in good conscience.

